2017 Call to Caucus CANCELLED




Pursuant to the authority provided by the Virginia Democratic Party Plan, the Fredericksburg Democratic Committee hereby calls an assembled caucus beginning at 12:00 PM on Saturday, April 22, 2017, at the Central Rappahannock Regional Library (1201 Caroline St). The purpose of the caucus will be to elect 7 Delegates and 4 Alternates to the First Congressional District Democratic Convention, to convene at 11:00 AM on Saturday, May 13, 2017, Walker Grant Middle School, 1 Learning Lane, Fredericksburg, VA 22401.

Fredericksburg delegates to the First Congressional District Democratic Convention shall elect twenty (20) Democratic State Central Committee members; consider resolutions; and conduct such other business as may properly come before the Convention.


Those persons wishing to have their names placed on the ballot at the Caucus as a Delegate or Alternate must file a certificate of candidacy with Jason Graham, Chair of the Fredericksburg Democratic Committee, PO Box 1261, Fredericksburg, VA 22402, no later than 5:00 PM on Wednesday, April 19, 2017, by mail or via email (must include your signature) at chair@fredericksburgdems.org. The application includes the name, address, phone number, and email address of the person filing. The certificate of candidacy may be downloaded here.

No slates of candidates shall be permitted.

A voluntary administrative filing fee of $30.00 ($20 to the First Congressional District Democratic Committee and $10.00 to the local committee) shall be charged to those wishing to file as a delegate or alternate. Local committees shall collect the entire voluntary filing fee.

All papers to be filed with the Chair of the Fredericksburg Democratic Committee shall be filed via mail at Fredericksburg Democratic Committee, PO Box 1261, Fredericksburg, VA 22402, or via email to chair@fredericksburgdems.org with the subject line ‘1st CD Call to Convention’. If filing by mail, it must be received by the deadline – no postmarks. All forms that require a signature must contain a valid handwritten signature.

Conduct of the Caucus

Doors to the caucus will open for check-in at 11:30 AM. Any person attending the caucus shall sign a standardized Caucus Participation Form stating that he or she is a Democrat; does not intend to support any candidate who is opposed to a Democratic Party nominee in the ensuing election; is not a member of any other political Party; has not participated and will not participate in the nominating process of any other Party for the 2017 general election; and is a registered voter and a resident in Fredericksburg and the First Congressional District. These forms must be filled out before participating in the caucus. At 12:00 PM, the doors to the caucus will be closed and no person may participate in the caucus except for those persons in line.

The Chair of the Fredericksburg Democratic Committee or his designee shall be the Temporary Chair of the Caucus and shall appoint a Temporary Secretary and such other Temporary Officers of the Caucus as is deemed appropriate. Until the adoption of the Rules, the order of the Caucus shall be determined by the Chair of the Caucus, subject to the approval of the Caucus participants, Robert’s Rules of Order, and the Virginia Democratic Party Plan.

If no more than 11 candidates pre-file by 5:00 PM, Wednesday, April 19, 2017, then the first 7 people who filed shall be considered elected as Delegate and the next 4 persons shall be considered elected as an Alternate to the First Congressional District Democratic Convention from the Fredericksburg Democratic Committee. In this case, the caucus will be hereby cancelled. Notice of Caucus Cancellation will be posted on the Committee’s Website: fredericksburgdems.org. This cancellation will be posted by 8:00 PM, April 19, 2017.

If more than 11 candidates pre-file by 5:00 PM, Wednesday, April 19, 2017, then an election shall take place by ballot. Nominations are not allowed from the floor. Only those who pre-filed will appear on the ballot. The caucus shall elect a total of 11 Delegates. The top 7 vote getters will be elected as a Delegate; and, the next 4 vote getters will be elected as an Alternate.

For further information, please contact Jason Graham, Chair, Fredericksburg Democratic Committee at chair@fredericksburgdems.org.

Authorized by the Fredericksburg Democratic Committee.